Friday, 2 November 2007

Fisikawan dari MIT

Collected By:

Arip Nurahman
Department of Physics, Faculty of Sciences and Mathematics
Indonesia University of Education
Follower Open Course Ware at MIT-Harvard University, U.S.A.

MIT Physics Open Course Ware

Fisikawan dari MIT

(Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

Klik di Bawah ini

In terms of intellectual interest, the MIT Department of Physics is without compare. Its graduate program was recently ranked first in the nation. Its faculty and students are dynamic, innovative, and on the cutting edge of science exploration. Faculty members are involved in research worldwide and are represented at all major research facilities.
The research activities of MIT Department of Physics affiliates have also been recognized by five Nobel Prizes awarded since 1990. Recent Nobel Laureates include:
2004 Frank Wilczek, Herman Feshbach Professor of Physics, MIT
2001 Wolfgang Ketterle, John D. MacArthur Professor of Physics, MIT;
Eric A. Cornell, MIT PhD Physics 1990
1994 Clifford G. Shull, Professor of Physics Emeritus, MIT (deceased)
1990 Jerome I. Friedman, Institute Professor and Professor of Physics, MIT;
Henry W. Kendall, Professor of Physics, MIT; MIT PhD Physics 1951, SB Physics 1948 (deceased)
1976 Samuel C. C. Ting, Thomas Dudley Cabot Professor of Physics;
Burton Richter, MIT PhD Physics 1956, SB Physics 1952

MIT physics faculty and Nobel Laureates Jerome Friedman, Frank Wilczek,
Wolfgang Ketterle and Samuel Ting.

In terms of working atmosphere, the Department is committed to creating a comfortable, yet challenging environment. The atmosphere is informal and collegial, yet employees are encouraged to grow professionally as well as personally through training and educational opportunities.

Jerome I. Friedman
Institute Professor, Emeritus; Professor of Physics, Emeritus; 1990 Nobel Laureate
Experimental High Energy Physics

Frank Wilczek
Herman Feshbach Professor of Physics; 2004 Nobel Laureate
Theoretical Particle Physics

Wolfgang Ketterle
John D. MacArthur Professor of Physics; Director, MIT-Harvard Center for Ultracold Atoms; 2001 Nobel Laureate
Atomic, Molecular and Optical

Samuel C. C. Ting
Thomas Dudley Cabot Professor of Physics; 1976 Nobel Laureate
Experimental High Energy Physics

Physics Research Divisions:

Division of Astrophysics

X-ray Optical Space Plasma Physics
Binary Evolution Radio Planetary Astronomy
Gravitation Theory

Research Centers and Facilities

MIT-affiliated Research Centers and Facilities
Bates Linear Accelerator Center
Center for Magnetic Resonance
Center for Materials Science and Engineering
Center for Theoretical Physics
Condensed Matter Theory Group
G. R. Harrison Spectroscopy Laboratory
Haystack Radio Observatory
The Kavli Institute for Astrophysics & Space Research at MIT
Laboratory for Nuclear Science
Laser Interferometer Gravitational Wave Observatory (LIGO) (with Caltech)
Magellan Project at Las Campanas Observatory (with OCIW, and the Universities of Arizona, Harvard, and Michigan)
Michigan-Dartmouth-MIT Observatory
MIT–Harvard Center for Ultracold Atoms
Plasma Science and Fusion Center
Research Laboratory of Electronics
George R. Wallace Jr. Astrophysical Observatory
U. S. Government Research Centers and Facilities
Brookhaven National Laboratory: High Flux Beam Reactor
Brookhaven National Laboratory: National Synchrotron Light Source